

Private Sector Development Advisory Council Minutes of the Meeting N6

Private Sector Development Advisory Council

Agenda

June 7, 2018

09:45 - 10:00 - Registration

10:00 - 10:10 - Welcome and opening remarks

Deputy Minister of Economy and Sustainable Development of Georgia

Ekaterine Mikabadze

10:10–10:40 Presentation on "Monitoring of the SME Development Strategy"

Daniel Quadbeck, Project Manager, OECD Global Relations – Eurasia

Francesco Alfonso, Project co-ordinator, OECD Global Relations - Eurasia

10:40 − **10:50** Comments from Georgian government on progress achieved since 2016 and future priorities

Representatives of GoG

10:50 - 11:00 Comments from private sector and donors on recent developments and reform effectiveness, as well as current constraints regarding SME policy development in Georgia

Representatives of Private Sector and Donors

11:00 – 11:45 Presentation on future SBA assessment methodology and timeline/process

Meryem Torun, Project co-ordinator, OECD Global Relations – Eurasia

11:45 – 12:00 Open discussion and Q&A

12:00 - 12:30 Coffee Break

12:30 – 12:45 Presentation on "Introduction of Regulatory Impact Assessment System in Georgia"

Head of Economic Policy and RIA Division at Economic Policy Department, MOESD

Tea Loladze

12:45 -13:00 Q&A and Comments

13:00 – 13:15 Information on activities implemented within the sub-council for development of women entrepreneurship

Head of Georgian Association,, Woman and Business"

Nino Elizbarashvili

13:15 – 13:30 Q&A and Comments

13:30 -14:00 Discussion on topic "Factors hindering Private Sector Development"

Moderator - Deputy Head of Advisory Council - Irma Khvedeliani

14:00 -14:10 - Closing remarks

Deputy Minister of Economy and Sustainable Development of Georgia

Ekaterine Mikabadze

14:10 – 15:00 –Lunch

2. Participants List

	Name, Surname	Organization
1	Ekaterine Mikabadze	Ministry of Economy and Sustainable Development of Georgia
2	Tsisnami Sabadze	Ministry of Economy and Sustainable Development of Georgia
3	Tea Loladze	Ministry of Economy and Sustainable Development of Georgia
4	Nino Berianidze	Ministry of Economy and Sustainable Development of Georgia
5	Giorgi Chitadze	Ministry of Economy and Sustainable Development of Georgia
6	Jemal Vashakidze	Ministry of Economy and Sustainable Development of Georgia
7	Natia Gvirjishvili	Ministry of Education and Science of Georgia
8	Genadi Jangidze	Ministry of Environment Protection and Agriculture of Georgia
9	Giorgi Samanishvili	Agricultural Project Management Agency (APMA) of the Ministry of Environment protection and Agriculture of Georgia
10	Lasha Zivzivadze	Ministry of Environment Protection and Agriculture of Georgia
11	Elza Jgerenaia	Ministry of Labor Health and Social Affairs of Georgia
12	Paata Zhorzholiani	Ministry of Labor Health and Social Affairs of Georgia
13	Ana Gugushvili	LEPL "Georgian Innovation and Technology Agency" (GITA) Ministry of Economy and Sustainable Development of Georgia
14	Medea Akolashvili	Competition Agency

15	Dimitri Gulisashvili	Procurement Agency
16	Nino Mikanadze	LEPL "Georgian National Agency for Standards and Metrology" Ministry of Economy and Sustainable Development of Georgia
17	Irina Mezurnishvili	LEPL "Enterprise Georgia"; Ministry of Economy and Sustainable
		Development of Georgia
18	Tamar Japaridze	LEPL "Enterprise Georgia"; Ministry of Economy and Sustainable
		Development of Georgia
19	Gogita Todradze	National Statistics Office of Georgia
20	Lasha Labadze	Georgian Employers' Association
21	Giorgi Vekua	Georgian Chamber of Commerce and Industry
22	Nino Elizbarashvili	Georgian Association "Woman and Business"
23	Irma Khvedeliani	Hazelnut Processors and Exporters Association of Georgia
24	Shalva Alaverdashvili	Georgian Hotels and Restaurants Federation
25	Nikoloz Khundzakishvili	Efes Georgia
26	Zurab Dznelashvili	Business Ombudsman of Georgia
27	Marekhi Merabishvili	Business Ombudsman Office of Georgia
28	Iva Chkonia	Georgian Distributors' Business Associacion (GDBA)
29	Levan Silagava	Georgian Producers' Federation
30	Nino Esakia	EU4 Business
31	Natia Meltauri	EU4 Business
32	Mariam Kuchuloria	European Business Association
33	Ana Edisherashvili	Ministry of Justice
34	Mariam Guniava	National Bank of Georgia
35	Sopo Kiladze	National Bank of Georgia

36	Iuri Dolidze	SARAS
37	David Mchedlidze	SARAS
38	Nino Eliashvili	PwC/GGF project manager
39	Mariam Matiashvili	EIEC, Ministry of Environmental Protection and Agriculture
40	Davit Okropiridze	GIZ, Private Sector Development and TVET in South Caucasus, "SME Development and DCFTA in Georgia"
41	Philipp Steinheim	GIZ, Private Sector Development and TVET in South Caucasus, "SME Development and DCFTA in Georgia"
42	Anjelika Rieck	GIZ, Private Sector Development and TVET in South Caucasus, "SME Development and DCFTA in Georgia"
43	Dominik Papenheim	EU Delegation
44	Stig KJELDSEN	EU Delegation
45	Daniel Quadbeck	OECD
46	Francesco Alfonso	OECD
47	Meryem Torun	OECD
48	Alena FRID	OECD

3. Issues discussed on the meeting:

- Presentation on Georgia's SME Development Strategy implementation process monitored by the OECD;
- Presentation on the assessment methodology and timeline of **SME policy index 2018** in accordance with 10 main principles of Small Business Act for Europe (SBA);
- Presentation on introduction of Regulatory Impact Assessment (RIA) system in Georgia;
- Information on activities implemented within the sub-council for development of women entrepreneurship;
- Discussion on issues raised by private sector.

4. Policy recommendations

- Economic Policy Department of the MoESD has been requested to coordinate the process with regard to provision of relevant information to OECD related to commencement of assessment SME policy index 2018;
- In case the concept for supporting and stimulating of local companies in state procurement will be elaborated and presented by the private sector, support to make a RIA on the presented draft;
- To organize a joint meeting on the issue of small hotels (with max. 5 rooms) raised by private sector with the representatives of the Ministry of Finance and business ombudsman.

Chair of the Council

Ekaterine Mikabadze

Secretary of the Council

Tsisnami Sabadze